Beethoven, Symphony NO., 5 Classical Era Blog #3

Beethoven, symphony NO. 5,  composed between 1804-1808 in Vienna, Austria.

      Beethoven is one of the worlds most famous composers. He wrote 16 string quartets, 9 symphonies and 32 piano sonatas, which majority of them are still played today.

     This world famous composer started writing songs at a very young age. He gave his first performance at age 7 ½ at the Cologen. At age 12 Beethoven published his first work, 9 variations in C Minor for piano on a march by Earnest Christoph Dressler. In 1787, Beethoven was sent to Vienna to meet Mozart, and to further his musical education. From this time on Beethoven because very popular. He took many trips to Vienna to play for Prince Elector and learning new strategies for music.

     During this time his music was considered to be strange, overly extravagant and sometimes risque. He was a new and young composure that was already pushing the boundaries of music. Beethoven’s 5th Symphony is a great example of the change in music that happened during the Classical Era.

      In 1796, Beethoven started to loose his hearing. Around 1811 he became totally deaf. He contemplated suicide for a while because he couldn’t handle the thought of living without composing music. However, he decided against it and continued to compose. He continued to compose music but he never preformed again after his failed attempt to preform his own Piano Concerto NO. 5 (the Emperor). He died in 1827 from the flue.

     “Beethoven was born only six years before the American Revolution and nineteen years before the French. All of Europe was in ferment, shedding a system of aristocratic government, replacing the authority of the nobility with the powerful economic clout of a rising middle class. Democratic ideals were in the air. Beethoven himself wholeheartedly subscribed to that, believing that Napoleon had come to liberate Europe. On arriving in Vienna, Napoleon’s forces bombed the city heavily, and a shaken Beethoven changed his mind (pianonose.com). Because of this Beethoven wrote music that was a major change to the Classical era. He wrote music that was was unusual, hard to repeat but easy to follow. Because of this, there was a liking of his music among the middle class.

     Symphony NO. 5 really caught my attention because it has a fast tempo, exciting feel, very dramatic and it keeps me guessing to what piece is going to happen next. It starts out fast, then slow, then it takes you on some twist and turns. I also really like the fast that Beethoven continued to compose music after he became deaf. This impairment stop him from doing what he loved to do. He thought about committing suicide but didn’t because he held on to his hope of hearing again. Even after he realized that he would never hear again he still decided that he can continue writing and enjoy life through his music, even if he can’t hear it being played.

Citations:

http://www.pianonoise.com/Composer.Beethoven.htm

http://www.lvbeethoven.com/Bio/BiographyLudwig.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ludwig_van_Beethoven

http://www.blurtit.com/q998733.html

http://www.pianonoise.com/Composer.Beethoven.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOk8Tm815lE

7 thoughts on “Beethoven, Symphony NO., 5 Classical Era Blog #3

  1. You did a great job giving history on Beethoven and looking into how and why he wrote his music. I felt like you could have connected the middle class more to the 5th Symphony and why it was good for them. You did such a good job of giving history, that you could connect the middle class to how his deafness effected his music. Just elaborate a little more on how everything is connected.

  2. All of the criteria requirements are met in this presentation. You provided good detail on what you enjoyed most about the music and why. I liked how you showed that the middle class was changing, as well as Beethoven, and it affected his music composition. I would have liked to see a bit more elaboration about the movements so that I had an idea of what I was about to hear. I like the intensity of this piece and the constant reoccurring theme through out. I always think a royal introduction is about to occur when the trumpets begin to play.

  3. I think you did a good job on this blog post, particularly of the history on the piece, something I seem to always end up lacking in my own posts. That said, I do feel it could have specified how Symphony number 5 was related to the middle class. I will say it is extremely difficult to find this information though; after doing a musical piece, I can safely say art is MUCH easier to analyze 😮

    I wish I could say I like the piece and that I’m some huge Beethoven fan, since I *am* taking a music/art class. But I can’t. I’m just not into the classical music, and I really don’t expect that to change. It’s nice to see why other people enjoy it, though, and to see things from a differing viewpoint. I just can’t share that viewpoint.

  4. The background information provided really helped me understand Beethoven and his perspective on music. I can understand why he thought about suicide. Music was his life, passion and living, and with deafness that could have all been taken away. With that said, I appreciated your opinions on Symphony No. 5. I almost did my blog post on this piece, because it sounds out to me. This must be the reason Beethoven is consider such a great composer! The information provided was amazing, but I feel there could have been more you in the post. I was reading and reading and only at the end did I see feedback about the piece itself. I also agree with an above comment, that the only way I feel your post could have been stronger, was if you connected it right to the middle class. But upon doing my own blog, I understand the difficulty of finding reasoning behind music.

  5. Overall, an intriguing and enjoyable blog post. Beethoven’s music is timeless as the famous introduction to this symphony reverberates through most peoples’ minds. As a fan of classical music, it was nice to learn a little more about this talent. The only recommendation I can give you for the betterment of your blog is to quickly review your spelling as I had found a few mistakes.

  6. I think you included most of the information, but I do agree with some of the others that you could have connected it a little better to the middle class. I thought the part about him becoming deaf was interesting–maybe there was an affect it had on his writing? I also like this piece–like you I like that it keeps me guessing.

  7. This was an wonderful post. I was intrigued with the information presented.Your blod had a great flow and i enjoyed that you included the listening media, that allowed us to hear the actual piece that you were referencing. Beethoven is a name that shall be known forever. He was an remarkable composer and musician.

Leave a Reply

